Carrying on a two-century tradition of excellence

The Indiana University Board of Trustees is the university’s governing body. Established by the state legislature in 1820, the board has shaped the growth of the university since its beginning.

The board is made up of nine trustees, and its business is overseen by six officers. Three trustees are elected by alumni, and the remainder are appointed by Indiana’s governor.

The board meets six times a year on IU campuses around the state. Meetings are open to the public and anyone with an interest in the governance of the university is welcome to attend.

Learn more about the board

IU’s trustees

Learn about the current trustees and find a list of past trustees.

Meet the trustees

Meetings, minutes, and agendas

Explore meeting agendas and minutes and find the next meeting schedule.

Get meeting details

Student trustee

If you’re a full-time IU student, find out how you can apply to join the board.

Learn how to apply

Next Board of Trustees meeting

April 16, 2021 - Special Meeting 

The Indiana University Board of Trustees will meet on Friday, April 16 at 10:30 a.m. The meeting will be available to view on

June 2, 2021 - Tuition Forum

Every other year Indiana University hosts a public tuition forum to present tuition and fee information and allow for comments by the public. The virtual forum will be held on Wednesday, June 2 at 1:00 p.m. If you wish to submit a question or comment you may do so by sending your message to

June10-11, 2021 - Location To Be Determined

The June regular meeting of the Indiana University Board of Trustees will take place on June 10 and 11. Location to be determined. 

See the schedule