About Trustee Shoulders

  • Year appointed: 2002
  • Year elected: 2005
  • Current term: 2017–20
  • Residence: Vanderburgh County

Trustee Shoulders is a partner with the law firm of Ziemer Stayman Weitzel & Shoulders in Evansville. He holds two IU degrees, a J.D. (magna cum laude) from the Indiana University Robert H. McKinney School of Law in Indianapolis, and a bachelor of arts from Indiana University Bloomington. He was chair of the IU Alumni Association in 2000, has served on the Varsity Club, and currently serves on the IU Foundation board of directors. He is a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers and has played a leadership role in a number of professional organizations. He has long been deeply involved in the Evansville community, devoting his time to organizations dedicated to youth and in the arts, recreation, public broadcasting, local government, and education. He received the Hine Medal from IUPUI in 2005, a Sagamore of the Wabash in 1996, the Herman Wells Leadership Award from Sigma Nu Fraternity in 2005, and the IU Southeast Chancellor’s Medallion in 2016.